Trending in 2014…

Time to hit the gym

Time to hit the gym

Part of the reason I never adopt any new year’s resolutions is that January 1st just doesn’t mean that much to me. It may be a new calendar year, but we’re still in the only middle of a long winter. Each new school year has always been a much bigger source of perennial renewal and change. However, “autumnal resolutions” does not have the same ring.

Maybe I’m trying to salvage the last bit of holiday spirit that I missed out on while I was traveling in Thailand, or maybe adapting to Korean birthdays is putting more significance into the renewing properties of the new year, but I have decided to make some intentional changes for this next year. Calling them resolutions seems like a commitment I don’t want to accept, but over the next year you should hopefully see some trends in my life.

The long road to a healthy knee.

The long road to a healthy knee.

I want to run more. The knee issues that plagued me last year are under control. I can finally run again. I’m too cheap for a gym, and the key to staying warm outside is to keep moving, so it looks like I’ll be running rather than lifting this winter. I also rediscovered how great it feels to go on a long run. I think I’m hooked (again). I’m not making any goals, but it’d sure be cool if I could do a half marathon before Ultimate starts this Spring.

I want to dance more. The aforementioned knee problems also kept me from dancing as much as I would have liked to last year. Laziness may also have played a small part. One of the few things that Seoul really has over home is the size of the dance scene, and I’d be dumb not to take advantage of that.

I want to practice Korean more. My language skills really aren’t that great considering how long I’ve been here. More than just studying more, I need to practice and utilize what I know. Granted, that takes a bit of confidence, but I’m sure that will increase the more I do it. I can’t bring myself to pay for courses at a university, but hopefully I can still motivate myself to stick to online lessons.

I want to take more photos. I bought a camera before coming here, and haven’t done a lot with it. I’d like to spend a Saturday afternoon here and there learning and practicing photography, with the purpose of finally having some decent photos for you guys to oggle.

Not on my reading list for 2014.

Not on my reading list for 2014.

I want to read better. It doesn’t have to be more material, just better material. This goes beyond just reading my kindle while in the subway, waiting for tardy friends, and having meals by myself. This means if I read an article online, I want to be learning something. No more “24 things about being 24”, “…and you won’t believe what happened next!”, or “You won’t eat a carrot the same way again.” Actually, this may often mean reading less, as I stop clicking links on facebook and start doing something productive with my evening.

Obviously there are only 24 hours in the day, so just as important as spending more time on these things, it’s important to spend less time bumming around. It’s super easy to come home from work and waste an entire evening on the computer. All that time can so easily be replaced by better, more productive activities. Who knows, maybe I’ll even blog more!

